top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRevati Panickar

I was rescued.

I researched and found a few animal shelters near me. The next day I was there, meeting amazing souls, some excited to meet me while others terrified. Puppies, young adults and old, they were all there, waiting for their FOREVER home.

I met my little one there. His name was Miles then. In his room, he sat waiting to meet his mom. Though I was not prepared to be a pet owner, the moment I stepped into his room, I knew he was mine. I went in to own a pet, instead came out as a mother. Miles had chosen his MOTHER.

Miles welcomed me into his room with immense energy. He jumped, ran around and showed us a few tricks he learnt. He knew how to SIT. We decided to take him home. The volunteers at the shelter asked us, if we wanted to give him a name, a name that would officially make him part of our family. He was going to be our little baby, a little kid, so we named him Kiddo. We signed all the paperwork and his name tag was ready. Kiddo was ready to go to his forever home.

He took his first step out of his room, with his mom. He looked around, it was not his room anymore. There were so many people around. The hallway didn't smell like his room. Mom was a stranger. Dad was busy getting some final signatures done. For him, this was a new world. He was out of his comfort zone. Kiddo was scared, shivering and shaking. All his energy had been drained. He looked up. That moment he made me realize what I have signed up for. I was a mother now. Kiddo was no longer a puppy in that room. He was my baby boy. I had to take care of him for the rest of his life. I picked him up and cuddled right into my arms. He held me tight.

It's been two years now. Nothing has changed, yet everything is different now. I am a mom. He brings out the motherly instinct in me. I cuddle him, pamper him, spoil him. There are times when I am strict with him. No extra treats. :P

Kiddo keeps me alert, he is by my side always. He knows me better than I know myself. Happy, sad, angry..whatever be my mood, my baby boy has always been by his mother's side.

Two years of my time with Kiddo has changed my perception towards life. I look at the world differently now, I see good everywhere, I have learnt to forgive, I know to live in the present and leave the past behind. In that room, in the shelter, I went to adopt a pet instead I was rescued. That day Kiddo saved a life.

Animals are special. Help them whenever you can. All they give you in return is happiness and lots of love. Rescue them. Give them a forever home. As much as they need you, it's you who need them more.

124 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page